Annual Report 2017-2018


Organisational structure

Our Office has just over 145 full time equivalent staff and comprises 3 operational and 2 non-operational business units. The operational business units report to the Deputy Auditor General and develop our key products, including the annual financial audits and performance audits that culminate in reports to Parliament. The 2 non-operational business units report directly to the Auditor General and provide corporate, technical and audit quality support.

Organisational Chart

Senior officers

The 7 members of the Executive Management Group (Executive) set the strategic direction and organisational values that define the activities of the OAG.

Caroline Spencer

Caroline has extensive experience in financial and performance audit across jurisdictions and sectors. Prior to commencing as Auditor General, Caroline was Managing Partner and co-founder of a Canberra-based professional services firm, specialising in public sector audit and governance.

Caroline has held a number of predominately public sector board and audit committee roles in several jurisdictions.

She is a Fellow and non-executive Director of CPA Australia, Chartered Accountant and graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Governance Institute of Australia.

She has a Bachelor of Business from the University of Technology Sydney. Profile on page 7.

Sandra Labuschagne
BCompt, Hons BCompt CA (SA)

Sandra joined the OAG in 2012 and became Assistant Auditor General in 2014. Sandra has extensive public and private sector auditing experience in South Africa, New Zealand and Australia.

Don Cunninghame

Don joined the OAG in 1992 after an information systems audit career mainly in the internal audit divisions of large insurance companies. Don has worked in our information systems audit branch, headed our corporate services division, was our chief finance officer and a director of financial audit before being appointed Assistant Auditor General in 2008.

Jason Beeley
BA Hons (Oxon), Dip Strategic Studies

Jason joined the OAG in 2006, following 5 years as a commercial and general manager in the defence and technology sectors. Jason previously worked with the UK National Audit Office conducting and managing value for money studies, mainly of the Ministry of Defence. He was appointed Assistant Auditor General in 2009.

Aloha Morrissey
BBus, Grad Dip Bus Admin, CPA

Aloha joined the OAG in 2002, and was appointed as a Director in the Information Systems and Performance Audit business unit in 2014. Prior to joining the Office, Aloha held a range of investigation and audit positions with the Australian Securities and Investments Commission and the Australian Taxation Office.

Michelle Shafizadeh
BBus, FCA, FCPA, FAIM, FGIA, GAICD, MIPAA, Registered Company Auditor

Michelle joined the OAG in 2010 and became Assistant Auditor General in 2011. Previously, Michelle was the National Assurance Services Technical Director for William Buck Chartered Accountants and before that, a Perth Assurance Services Partner for BDO Chartered Accountants.

Sadie Godfrey
MBA (Curtin), Assoc Dip Bus (Accounting)

Sadie has diverse and extensive experience in corporate management, working in the areas of education and industrial relations. Sadie was previously Director of Corporate Services at the Department of the Registrar, Western Australian Industrial Relations Commission before joining the OAG as Assistant Auditor General in 2008.




Page last updated: September 21, 2018

Back to Top